Ohana

FAMILY

Standard definition – a basic social unit consisting of parents and their children,considered as a group, whether dwelling together or not

Urban Dictionary  – people you love and love you back, not necessarily blood or biological, but you trust them and they trust you, and they take care of you and you take care of them.

Now I don’t know about anyone else, but I much prefer the Urban Dictionary explanation of the word family. There are many people in my life that I consider family that are not related to me by blood or common ancestry and I can honestly say I do not know where I would be without them.

There is my college dorm family, my library family, my old WWA work family, the Fresno Fat Loss family…. each group has helped me through some pretty tough times and each in their own special way.

When we were away at college, the girls at the dorms supported each other through thick and thin. Whether you are 20 mins from home or hours away from home, you truly start to miss your biological family and that’s where your dorm buddies come in. You learn to open up and let certain people into your heart. You start going to dinner together, helping each other study, participating in random shenanigans together… and when you hit a road block, some of those people will help you past it.

Those are the people who become your family. Those are the people who give you their shoulder to cry on. You go to their place when your boyfriend breaks up with you and have bowls of ice cream. They make you laugh while you’re a blubbering mess… and no matter how many times you make up and break up, they are still there for you with a tub of ice cream. When you get a phone call with bad news from home, they are there to keep your spirits up. When your birthday rolls around, they are there to surprise you with decorations and cake and candles. You watch one another graduate, move home, get married, start their own families…. that bond is never broken and it’s incredible.

My library/work family is just as great. We know each other’s favorite foods, joke about the crazy things our spouses do, talk about our kids/grandkids/nieces/nephews… We help each other plan vacations, encourage each other when we are on diets or starting new exercise regimens, some of my coworkers even helped me make crafts for my wedding! Although we get moved around a lot from branch to branch, I know all of the wonderful people I work with are just a phone call away.

The same goes for my newly established Fresno Fat Loss family! We have known one another less than a month, but the bond that we have created is strong. I hate working out with every single ounce of my being and I seriously struggle to get up for my training sessions… once I am there, though, my mindset changes.

Even though I hate being sweaty and the work outs are brutal, my trainer and partner are just awesome. Words cannot describe how working out with them makes me feel. When I have to miss sessions, it throws a kink in my whole day. I get really sad that I didn’t get to see those incredible people. We laugh, we cry, we sweat, we encourage each other to take just one more step… just one more minute… 10 more seconds… a longer, healthier life.

Recently, we have each had things going on at home that most would let hinder their progress. Instead of letting it drag us down, we pour our hearts out to one another, hug it out, and move on knowing we can trust each other… knowing that love and support are just a phone call or text away.

Seriously, I’m telling you that feeling is indescribable and I’m so blessed to be so quickly accepted and supported by them.

Until next time,

XO – Tink

 

 

Leave a Reply

