Lost.

As of late, it has been extremely difficult for me to sit down and write a new post here. When your mind runs a million miles a minute, it is hard to pinpoint which thought is more important to document.

I want to tell you all (whoever you are) where I think my battle with this illness started. I want to tell you how I cope with certain situations. I want to tell you what thoughts pop into my head on a daily basis. I want to tell you about my college days away from home and the lessons I learned during that time. I want to confess things that not even my family knows about… but I do not know where to begin. I have no idea what y’all want to read. Suggestions from those of you who take the time to read my ramblings would be much appreciated.

The only reason I am sitting here trying to figure out what to jot down is because my trainer suggested I do so…

After a very busy and exhausting week, I slept through all of my alarms this morning. I woke up 20 minutes before my boot camp session and knew there was no way on God’s green earth I could make it in time for my workout. I sent a text to J (my trainer) to let him know that I wouldn’t be there and expected him to be nothing short of disappointed with me. If he was, he didn’t say so. He simply responded by telling me to write a post about whatever comes to mind.

That is the greatest thing about J… he constantly encourages me to keep trekking on, in all aspects of my life. I have only been part of his fitness program for a few weeks, but I already consider him a better friend than some of the people I grew up with. Unlike most trainers that you meet at a big gym, he actually takes the time to get to know his clients. He isn’t mean or condescending. If you’re struggling through a session, he is right there on the ground with you doing push ups or planks or mountain climbers.

He takes the time to put himself in your shoes, which is something everyone could definitely learn from. It is typical human nature to be quick to judge and form an opinion of someone without knowing anything about them. We are even quick to change how we see our friends and family if they do something we disapprove of.

I am not trying to make anyone reading this feel guilty or bad about themselves. I, too, am guilty of doing these things. We should all take a step back and analyze situations and people before we jump to conclusions. Take the time to ask questions or do some research if you can.

For me, I know doing this will not happen overnight. I tend to think with my heart and let my emotions guide me instead of taking a breather and thinking with my head. As they say, though, NOTHING WORTH HAVING COMES EASY.

XO,
Tink

One thought on “Lost.

Leave a Reply

